Academy Council


The Academy Council of St Mary’s have a general responsibility for the management of the school but do not take decisions about its day to day running. This responsibility lies with the Executive Headteacher and Head of School.

The Academy Council consists of five Foundation Governors, two Parent Governors and two Staff Governors. The term of office for Foundation Governors is three years and for all other Governors is four years.

The Bishop of Leeds has the right to appoint Foundation Governors onto the Academy Council. Parents, including carers, of registered pupils at the school are eligible to stand for election for Parent Governorship at the school. Staff Governors are elected by the school staff and must be paid to work at the school. At least four of the twelve Governors on the Academy Council must be parents of registered pupils.

The Academy Council has specific responsibilities in a number of areas including:

  • Catholic ethos of the school;

  • Curriculum and conduct of the school;

  • Children with Special Educational Needs (SEN);

  • Overseeing the school budget;

  • Appointments and disciplinary procedure in regards to staff;

  • Admissions, discipline and attendance of pupils;

  • Community and parish use of the school.

Our Governors
Please click on the following link for details of our current school governors. Any parent who wishes to contact the Chair of Governors may do so in writing, sending letters care of the school address.


Governor Information
Joseph McDonnell - Chair of governors
Term 31.08.2014 - 31.08.2018
Declared business interest: Castle Construction
Peter Hughes
Term 01.01.2015 - 01.01.2019
Declared business interests: none
Graham Middleton
Term 23.09.2015 - 23.09.2019
Declared business interests: none

Kate Arbuckle
Term 01.09.2014 – 01.09.2018
Declared business interests: none
Maribel Wilson
Term 23.09.2015 - 23.09.2019
Declared business interests: none

Father Pat Smythe
Term   04.10.2013 - 04.10.2017
Declared business interests: none

Clare Beirne